Monday, April 14, 2008

Initial Lineup Announced For 2008 Jammy Awards

Jammy nominees Sharon Jones and Page McConnell are among the initial list of performers that will be playing at the Theater at Madison Square Garden as part of the 7th Jammy Awards. The May 7th event, which will be co-hosted by Warren Haynes and Grace Potter, will also include appearances from Rose Hill Drive, Tea Leaf Green, Galactic, Joe Russo, (Big Head) Todd Park Mohr, Los Lonely Boys, Booker T. Jones, Kyle Hollingsworth (String Cheese Incident), John Gutwillig and Marc Brownstein (Disco Biscuits), Glenn Tillbrook (Squeeze), Jake Cinninger (Umphrey's McGee), Steve Adams (ALO), The Fab Faux, Matisyahu, Christian McBride, James Carter and the HeadCount All-Stars.

Ostensibly an awards show, the main attraction of the Jammys has always been the intriguing pairings of musicians that wouldn't typically appear together under normal circumstances. Past Jammy Awards have seen collaborations between String Cheese Incident and Perry Farrell, the Disco Biscuits and Slick Rick, Robert Randolph and The Blind Boys From Alabama as well as moe. and Blue Oyster Cult. You can also count on a standout set arising from the Lifetime Achievement Award with memorable efforts being turned in by Steve Winwood, Buddy Guy, Bob Weir and Ratdog and Zappa Plays Zappa. This year the Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Phish.

1 comment:

Fred said...

I hope for the sake and integrity of the band; that Phish does NOT play together at this year's Jammy's. Not to say I never want to see it happen, but I don't want to see them turn into every other band who hung up the instruments and follow it up with a reunion tour adn 15 farewell tours.......yeah, I'm talking to you Gene Simmons and Pete Townsand.

Share This Post

Search Earvolution


Grace Potter Rocking The Gear circa 2006!